Blind daffodils and a splat of moss

snowdrop (1).JPG
Snowdrops with raindrops

It rained all day yesterday and the snowdrops are now dappled with raindrops. A splat of moss that has made its home on a slate of stone is without shame and has flashed its naked gametophytes (gam-meat-o-fights), sporophytes (spore-o-fights), and sporangium (spore-anj-e-um) for anyone to see. Don’t worry if you don’t understand the sex life of the mosses. I don’t either. So long as the mosses have it figured out, we shouldn’t worry. Throughout the neighborhood, the daffodils have put up their green swords ready to charge into spring. But they charge blindly because they yet to reveal their crowned heads. But I can’t criticize, when I blindly stuck my head out this morning I had to retreat and put on a knit hat. Spring may be coming, but it is winter that is here. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A splat of moss on a stone of slate
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Blind daffodils

*****If you enjoyed this post then please consider donating to your local food bank. Even if you didn’t enjoy it, consider donating anyway.

2 thoughts on “Blind daffodils and a splat of moss

  1. I love the way you described the daffodils and moss. And I also love that you can vaguely see the red wagon in the background. Oh, yes, I also love that you are still wearing your hat!

Leave a Comment